Tyneside Cinema mobile menu Search the Tyneside Cinema website

Metropolitan Opera 2017-18

Met Opera 2017-2018 Season 

This autumn, Tyneside Cinema is proud to present our ninth season of live satellite opera broadcasts from the Metropolitan Opera House in New York. This season will feature ten transmissions live from the Met stage, including five new productions and starry revivals featuring the world’s leading artists. 


2017-18 Season Listings

Norma (Vincenzo Bellini)
Saturday 7 October 2017 at 17:55 BST - New Production

Die Zauberflöte (Mozart)
Saturday 14 October 2017 at 17:55 BST

The Exterminating Angel (Thomas Adès)
Saturday 18 November 2017 at 17:55 GMT - MET Premiere

Tosca (Giacomo Puccini)
Saturday 27 January 2018 at 17:55 GMT - New Production

L’Elisir d’Amore (Donizetti)
Saturday 10 February 2018 at 17:00 GMT

La Bohème (Puccini)
Saturday 24 February 2018 at 17:30 GMT

Semiramide (Rossini)
Saturday 10 March 2018 at 17:55 GMT - First time in HD

Così fan tutte (Mozart)
Saturday 31 March 2018 at 17:55 BST - New Production (coproduction with ENO)

Luisa Miller (Verdi)
Saturday 14 April 2018 at 17:30 BST - First time in HD

Cendrillon (Massenet)
Saturday 28 April 2018 at 17:55 BST - MET Premiere


Click here to download a printable season information sheet with full 2017-18 transmission dates and principal cast members.


Metropolitan Opera Season Tickets (all 10 performances)
Stalls: £190 Circle: £240 

Individual Tickets 
Stalls: £24/£22 concessions and Friends /£12 Students / £10 Friends Students and Young Tyneside
Circle: £30/£28 concessions and Friends / £15 Students / £12 Friends Students and Young Tyneside 


Offers and Events

Exclusive Friends booking window

Friends of the Tyneside Cinema can purchase season tickets for the Metropolitan Opera 2017-2018 season from Monday 12 June, and individual tickets from Monday 19 June, one week before tickets go on general sale.


If you are a Friend of the Tyneside and wish to book tickets please call 0191 227 5500 or visit our Box Office in person. Please note that online sales are not available during our advance booking window.


To become a Friend of Tyneside Cinema simply fill out a form in person at our Box Office or call us on 0191 227 5500. 

Find out more about becoming a Friend of Tyneside Cinema.